About Isabella Muir…

Isabella Muir has a fascination for the past – exploring what it was like for families living through the decades from the 1930s through to the 1960s. She is the author of two crime mystery series, both set in Sussex, in the iconic era of the 1960s, as well several novellas set during the Second World War. Researching all aspects of family life in past decades formed the perfect launch pad for her works of fiction. Isabella rediscovered her love of writing fiction during two happy years working on and completing her MA in Professional Writing and since then has gone to publish six novels, five novellas and two short story collections.

The first series of her Sussex Crime Mysteries features young librarian and amateur sleuth, Janie Juke. Set in the late 1960s, in the fictional seaside town of Tamarisk Bay, we meet Janie, who looks after the mobile library. She is an avid lover of Agatha Christie stories – in particular Hercule Poirot – using all she has learned from the Queen of Crime to help solve crimes and mysteries. As well as three novels, there are five novellas in the series, which explore some of the back story to the Tamarisk Bay characters.

The setting for the Janie Juke mystery series is based on the area where Isabella was born and lived most of her life. When she thinks of Tamarisk Bay she pictures her birthplace in St Leonards-on-sea, East Sussex and its surroundings.

Her latest novels, Crossing the Line and After the Storm are part of a brand new series of Sussex Crime Mysteries, introducing retired Italian detective, Giuseppe Bianchi.

Isabella’s standalone novel, The Forgotten Children, deals with the emotive subject of the child migrants who were sent to Australia – again focusing on family life in the 1960s, when the child migrant policy was still in force.

Aside from writing her own stories, Isabella also publishes other great authors through her independent publishing company: Outset Publishing Ltd. Explore a wide range of books from popular children’s activity books through to historical non-fiction.

The Alliance of Independent Authors - Author Member

Isabella is an author member of The Alliance of Independent Authors.

What people are saying about her books…

I really enjoyed this latest crime novel from Isabella Muir. Lots of period details which add to the sense of mystery in this sixties-set piece. I love this new detective, Bianchi. He’s nuanced and many layered. I think there’s a lot more to him and I look forward to his next case.

Amazon Review of the Giuseppe Bianchi series

This is an excellent novel from an author I will be watching out for. The writing is good; it flows well and creates scenes and characters that are eminently believable and engaging

Amazon Review of the Janie Juke series

Uplifting, insightful, and emotionally brilliant – ‘The Forgotten Children’ tells a story that everyone needs to know.

Amazon Review for The Forgotten Children
%d bloggers like this: